The US House of Representatives on Wednesday approved an article of impeachment against President Donald Trump.

10 Republicans voted in favor of the article accusing Trump of “incitement of insurrection” following last week's riots at the Capitol: Liz Cheney, Anthony Gonzalez, Jaime Herrera Beutler, John Katko, Adam Kinzinger, Peter Meijer, Dan Newhouse, Tom Rice, Fred Upton and David Valadao.

The article was approved by a majority of 232 to 197.

This is the second time Trump has been impeached, the first time in US history that a President has been impeached twice.

The action now moves to the Senate, but it remains unclear when the Senate will convene to discuss it.

Senate Majority Leader Mitch McConnell’s (R-KY) office told Senate Democratic Leader Charles Schumer’s staff earlier on Wednesday that the GOP will not agree to reconvene the Senate before January 19 to allow an impeachment trial while President Trump is still in office.

The Senate last year voted to acquit Trump after an impeachment trial led by the Democratic-controlled House on charges of trying to pressure Ukraine to investigate Biden and his son Hunter.