Netanyahu speaks after swearing-in of the government
Netanyahu speaks after swearing-in of the governmentYonatan Sindel/Flash90

Prime Minister Binyamin Netanyahu welcomed the induction of the thirty-fourth government of Israel early Friday morning, shortly after the swearing-in of 20 ministers.

"Despite all the ups-and-downs we had to go through to reach this moment, I am still moved by the position and I am certain that you are too," he began. "From this moment on we must leave disagreements outside this room and focus on good work for the citizens of Israel – all citizens of Israel."

"We will work with determination, responsibility and vigor in the face of all attempts to test our borders and our security from both near and far," he pledged. "Israel's enemies must know that any threats directed at us have red lines. This has been our policy under previous governments and will be under the current government as well." 

"We will continue to promote a diplomatic settlement while upholding the vital interests and security of the citizens of Israel," he added. "At the same time and perhaps in assistance, we will try to realize the opportunity of regional developments and new possibilities of action with the moderate and responsible countries around us."

"We will work to improve social welfare with emphasis on lowering the cost of living in general and housing costs in particular. We will work to continue to reduce the gaps in Israeli society."

"We will continue to link the Negev and the Galilee with the center and to strengthen employment there and throughout the country."

"We are attentive to the cry of immigrants from Ethiopia and their families and next week we will form a special ministerial committee, under my chairmanship, to deal with this problem."

"We are obligated to work for the good of all Israeli citizens and we will do everything we can to justify the confidence the nation has vested in us," he concluded. "Now the time has come to roll up our sleeves and get to work. May our efforts be successful."

Meet the 34th government of Israel

The 34th government of Israel was sworn in on Thursday night. 

The new Cabinet includes: 

  • Prime Minister Binyamin Netanyahu - also serving as Foreign Minister, Health Minister, Communications Minister, and Minister of Regional Cooperation. 
  • Moshe Ya'alon (Likud) - Defense Minister (returning)
  • Silvan Shalom (Likud) - Interior Minister and Deputy Prime Minister
  • Yuval Steinitz (Likud) - Minister of Energy and Infrastructure
  • Ze'ev Elkin (Likud) - Absorption Minister and Strategic Affairs Minister
  • Ofir Akunis (Likud) - Minister without portfolio; designated to serve in the Communications Ministry
  • Benny Begin (Likud) - Minister without portfolio
  • Gila Gamliel (Likud) - Minister of Senior Citizens and Equality
  • Yisrael Katz (Likud) - Transportation Minister (returning)
  • Yariv Levin (Likud) - Public Security Minister, Tourism Minister, and Ministerial Liaison Between the Government and the Knesset
  • Miri Regev (Likud) - Culture and Sport Minister 
  • Danny Danon (Likud) - Space and Technology Minister
  • Haim Katz (Likud) - Welfare Minister and Social Affairs Minister
  • Tzipi Hotovely (Likud) - Deputy Foreign Minister
  • Ayoub Kara (Likud) - Deputy Minister of Regional Development
  • Moshe Kahlon (Kulanu) - Finance Minister
  • Yoav Galant (Kulanu) - Housing and Construction Minister
  • Avi Gabbai (Kulanu) - Environmental Protection Minister
  • Naftali Bennett (Jewish Home) - Education Minister, Diaspora Affairs Minister
  • Uri Ariel (Jewish Home) - Agriculture Minister
  • Ayelet Shaked (Jewish Home) - Justice Minister
  • Rabbi Eli Ben-Dahan (Jewish Home)  - Deputy Defense Minister
  • Aryeh Deri (Shas) - Economy Minister, Minister of Development of the Negev and Galilee
  • David Azoulay (Shas) - Religious Affairs Minister
  • Yitzhak Cohen (Shas) - Deputy Minister in the Finance Minister, Ministry for the Negev and the Galilee, and the Economy Ministry
  • Meshulam Nahari (Shas) - Deputy Education Minister
  • Yaakov Litzman (United Torah Judaism) - Deputy Health Minister
  • Meir Porush (United Torah Judaism) - Deputy Education Minister