Judicial Selection Committee (file)
Judicial Selection Committee (file)Flash90

Two new Supreme Court justices will be selected on Sunday, after nine members of the Judicial Selection Committee meet with the office of Justice Minister Tzipi Livni (HaTnua). 

The new justices will replace retiring Justice Edna Arbel and Chief Justice Asher Gronis.

The committee will also, in practice, appoint new President and Vice President of the Supreme Court, as both positions are taken by the outgoing justices. 

The list of candidates for public review indicate that the appointment will be a matter of preserving a seniority-based system, making the most senior justice - Justice Miriam Naor - the prime candidate for President of the Supreme Court. Justice Elyakim Rubenstein will likely be appointed to serve as Vice President. 

Other candidates include Justice Michal Agmon-Gonen, Judge Nava Ben-Or, Justice Anat Bar-On, Justice Devora Berliner, Justice Yael Wilner, Justice Revital Yaffa Katz, Justice Ruth Ronen, and former Attorney General Menachem Mazuz.

Additional names among the list of potential candidates for President of the Supreme Court include several Presidents of District courts. Among them, according to Walla! News, are the President of the District Court of Jerusalem, David Cheshin; Judges George Kara and Khaled Kabub from the Tel Aviv District Court; president of the Beer Sheva District Court, Yosef Alon; and Professor Barak Medina and Eyal Rosovsky, who currently represent - among others - the former Prime Minister Ehud Olmert and Rabbi Yoshiyahu Pinto.

Some controversy exists over the potential combination of the new appointees, according to the daily, as two candidates seen in the front-running - Mazuz and Ben-Or - have roots in the State Prosecutor's Office. 

Ben-Or is considered to have strong links to former Supreme Court President Dorit Beinisch, as well - a strong factor for what many claim is Justice Rubinstein's opposition to her appointment. Rubinstein and Ben-Or have clashed opinions in the past, when the former was Attorney General.