Supreme Court of Israel
Supreme Court of IsraelIsrael news photo:

Three district court judges and the dean of Tel Aviv University's Buchmann Faculty of Law have been appointed to the Israeli Supreme Court bench.

Jerusalem District Court Deputy President Tzvi Zylbertal, Jerusalem District Court Judge Noam Sohlberg, Tel Aviv District Court Judge Uri Shoham and TAU law school dean Professor Daphne Barak-Erez were chosen Friday by the Judicial Appointments Committee in a 90-minute session noted most for its brevity.

Sohlberg and Zylbertal begin serving their term in the next few weeks, following the retirement of Justices Edmond Levy and Ayala Procaccia.

Shoham begins after Supreme Court President Dorit Beinisch leaves, when she retires at the end of February.

Barak-Erez begins her term in May, following the retirement of Justice Eliezer Rivlin.

Of the four new judges, only Shoham did not receive a unanimous backing. The appointments required a majority vote of seven out of nine of the committee members.

Israel Bar Association representative Khaled Hosni Zoabi abstained on the vote for Sohlberg, who lives in the Gush Etzion community of Alon Shevut, but commented the move reflected his “personal views only.”