The Cabinet has accepted a proposal by Bank of Israel Governor Stanley Fischer to issue special Israeli coins for collectors that feature an image of former Prime Minister Yitzchak Rabin, who was assassinated 16 years ago this November.

Rabin will be featured on the one-shekel, two-shekel and 10-shekel coins, which will not replace the current coins in general circulation. The one-shekel coin will be made of silver and the 10-shekel coin will be made of gold. Previous coins have commemorated former Nobel Prize winners Shai Agnon and Menachem Begin.

The government did not indicate how many of the collectors’ items will be minted and how much they will cost. They will be available in 2011, probably to coincide with the annual week-long memorial services for Rabin.

The coin will include the phrase, “Yitzchak Rabin, Nobel Peace Prize winner 1994." Rabin was the co-winner of the prize, along with former Prime Minister Shimon Peres, who now is President of Israel, and Yasser Arafat, who ordered and carried out hundreds of terrorist attacks against Israel as head of the Palestine Liberation Organization.

All three men signed the Oslo Accords agreement at the White House during the administration of then-U.S. President Bill Clinton. The agreement eventually crumbled when Arafat launched the Second Intifada, also known as the Oslo War, after he refused an offer to create a new Arab state on most of Judea, Samaria and Gaza.