Coalition Agreements - Who Got What?

Yesh Atid receives 5 ministers, a deputy minister and 3 committees. Bayit Yehudi gets 3 ministers, 2 deputy ministers, and 1 committee.

Elad Benari, Canada ,

Bennett, Netanyahu. Lapid
Bennett, Netanyahu. Lapid
Flash 90

Now that the coalition negotiations have been concluded and agreements with Yesh Atid and Bayit Yehudi have been signed, here are the agreements between the Likud/Yisrael Beytenu and each party.

Yesh Atid
According to the agreement between the Likud and Yesh Atid, the party will get five ministerial portfolios. Party chairman Yair Lapid will serve as Finance Minister and his party also will receive the following ministries: Education (Rabbi Shai Piron), Welfare (Meir Cohen), Health (Yael German) and Science and Technology (Yaakov Peri).

A member of Yesh Atid will also be appointed as Deputy Welfare Minister. It was also determined that a Yesh Atid MK will head each of the following three committees - the Committee for Immigration, Absorption and Diaspora, the Committee on the Status of Women, and the Special Committee for Public Requests.

Bayit Yehudi
According to the agreement signed with the Bayit Yehudi, the party headed by Naftali Bennett will receive three ministerial portfolios. Bennett himself will serve as Minister of Economy and Commerce and will also serve as Minister of Religious Affairs and the Minister for Jerusalem and Diaspora. The party also will receive the Housing and Pensioners’ Affairs Ministries, to be held by MKs Uri Ariel and Uri Orbach, respectively.

A member of the party will be appointed Deputy Minister of Religious Affairs and Deputy Minister of Education. One of the Bayit Yehudi’s members shall act as chairman of the Finance Committee.

In addition to his role as minister, it has been decided that Bennett will also be part of the Political-Security Cabinet and a member of a special committee of ministers in charge of the peace process with the Palestinian Authority. In addition to Bennett, this committee will also include Prime Minister Binyamin Netanyahu and Ministers Moshe Yaalon, Tzipi Livni and Yair Lapid.

The coalition agreements also state that starting with the 34th government, which will be elected in the next elections, there will be only 18 ministers and four deputy ministers in a coalition.

It was also agreed that a bill will be passed to change the system of government so that the electoral threshold goes up to 4% (ie. five Knesset seats).

(Arutz Sheva’s North American Desk is keeping you updated until the start of Shabbat in New York. The time posted automatically on all Arutz Sheva articles, however, is Israeli time.)