Israeli Nobel Winners Omitted in British Media Report

A listing of all Nobel Peace Prize winners in an article by a British news service omitted Israel's three winners of the prize.

Contact Editor
Zalman Nelson, | updated: 15:08

Nobel peace prize winners for Oslo Accords
Nobel peace prize winners for Oslo Accords
Israel news photo: file

An article in a London-based news service about U.S. President Barack Obama’s winning the 2009 Nobel Peace Prize omitted the names of Israeli winners in its listing of “every peace prize winner ever” since the award’s inception in 1909.

All of Israel's prize winners - Menachem Begin, Yizhak Rabin and Shimon Peres - were omitted from the report published in The Guardian, and also on its website.

In the 1978 entry, Egyptian President Anwar Sadat was listed -- but his co-awardee, Israeli Prime Minister Menachem Begin's name is missing. The 1994 entry features the same error, with PLO terror chief Yasser Arafat being the only entry and the names of both then-Israeli Prime Minister Yitzhak Rabin and Foreign Minister Shimon Peres missing.

The move was caught and responded to by a volley of protests in the article’s comment section and online articles by the Daily Telegraph and Spectator. In response, The Guardian added the Israeli names back on to their list and issued a statement which blamed the mistake on “technical issues” and claimed the omission to be accidental.

"For the Nobel Peace Prize winners list, we used data from However, there was a technical issue during the data transfer from the site, which meant that many of the names of the joint winners of the Nobel Peace Prize were accidentally omitted, although the country of origin of the winners was not. This has now been corrected," a spokesperson for The Guardian explained.