Zionism Prize: Sderot Yeshiva Head,Settlement Leader,IDF Officer

The First Annual Moskowitz Prize for Zionism will be awarded on Jerusalem Day to three icons of Zionism.

IsraelNN.com Staff,

This year's winners of the Moskowitz Prize for Zionism, established by Dr. Irving and Cherna Moskowitz, are:

Rabbi David Fendel, head of the Hesder yeshiva in Sderot, "for the values of community involvement and commitment to the nation and the Land that Rabbi Fendel has instilled in hundreds of his students; for his yeshiva serving as a source of strength for all of Sderot's residents especially in these most troubling of times; for his actions, which make him a role model and Zionism leader."

Mr. Moshe 'Moshko' Moshkowitz, visionary and builder of Gush Etzion communities, "for over sixty years of activity and dedication in the areas of education and settlement; for his personal role in the establishment of communities and educational institutions throughout Israel, and particularly for his central role in establishing and making the communities of Gush Etzion prosper."

Brig.-Gen. (res.) Ran Pecker-Ronen, founder of the 'Tzahala' project, "for epitomizing bravery, self-sacrifice and leadership, for his outstanding approach to the educational and societal challenges facing Zionism today, and for his successful project "Tzahala", based on the volunteerism of former army officers at the forefront of social involvement with Israel's youth."

Each recipient will receive a cash award of $50,000. The award ceremony will take place on Jerusalem Day, 28th of Iyar 5768, Monday June 2 at the City of David at 7:30 pm. The ceremony will be followed by Shlomo Gronich's musical performance, "Journey to our Sources".

Members of the Prize Committee who chose the winners were: Mrs. Cherna Moskowitz, Chairman; Brig.-Gen. (res.) Avigdor Kahalani, Prof. Moshe Arens, Dr. Uzi Landau, Mr. Yoram Ettinger, Rabbi Pesach Lerner, Rebetzin Esther Jungreis, Rabbi Yedidya Atlas, Rabbi Daniel Moskowitz.