News Briefs

  Kislev 19, 5778 , 07/12/17

EU sues 3 European countries for refusing refugees

After months of negotiations, the EU executive submitted a petition to the European Court of Justice against three members of the EU, Hungary, the Czech Republic and Poland, over their refusal to participate in the "division plan" for asylum seekers as determined by EU institutions.

The European Commission announced that it had decided "to refer the Czech Republic, Hungary and Poland to the Court of Justice of the EU for non-compliance with their legal obligations on relocation." 

The three countries claim in their defence that Brussels is attempting to interfere with their national sovereignty.

Other archived news briefs:Dec 07 2017, 06:07 PM, 12/7/2017