He Ru Follow us: Make a7 your Homepage
      Free Daily Israel Report
      Archive: 8/14/2013

      News Brief

        8/14/2013, Elul 8, 5773

      New Chief Rabbis David Lau & Yitzchak Yosef Sworn In

      The two new Chief Rabbis were sworn in at a ceremony at the President's Residence in Jerusalem on Wednesday morning. Rabbi David Lau will serve as Ashkenazi Chief Rabbi. Rabbi Yitzhak Yosef will serve as  Sephardi Chief rabbi.

      Once every 10 years the 150 member electorate gathers to vote in the new Chief Rabbi for the Ashkenazi and Sephardi communities The two rabbis jointly lead the Rabbinate, in charge of marriages, divorce, burials and other life cycle events.