He Ru Follow us: Make a7 your Homepage
      Free Daily Israel Report
      Archive: 1/27/2013
      17:01
      Reported

      News Brief

        1/27/2013, Shevat 16, 5773

      Anti-Semitism Rising in Every Nook and Cranny


      The special Sunday-evening gathering in Holon, south of Tel Aviv, to mark International Holocaust Memorial Day and say "No more hate and anti-Semitism!" is one of dozens of such events taking place around the world, according to Ya'akov Hagoel, who heads the World Zionist Federation's department for fighting anti-Semitism. Interviewed by Arutz Sheva's Hebrew service, he said that some are being organized by emissaries of the Jewish Agency throughout the world and some by "people who picked up the gauntlet in light of our call to fight rising anti-Semitism." He said they will all have live broadcasts like the one on Arutz Sheva, starting at 19:00 Israel time (17:00 GMT, noon EST) and recordings transferred to his department's Website.

      Hagoel said that every day, anti-Semitic incidents, big and small, are brought before him. He said, "We are concluding a difficult year with many anti-Semitic incidents, starting with apparently small ones, in which girls and boys cannot go to school or synagogue without being bullied, to the terrible attack in Toulouse, France, which shocked us all."