News Briefs

  Shvat 12, 5773 , 23/01/13

Did Likud Lose 7 Seats or Gain 4 Seats?

The Likud party chaired by Prime Minister Benyamin Netanyahu retained power by gaining the largest number of seats in the Knesset following the 2013 elections that were held on Tuesday. In this election, Likud ran together with the Yisrael Beiteinu party, together earning 31 seats. In the 2009 elections, Likud gained 27 seats and Yisrael Beiteinu gained 15, making a combined total of 42 seats. Thus together, there was a loss of 11 seats. There were 20 Likud members and 11 Yisrael Beiteinu members on the joint list who were elected. This means Likud alone lost only 7 seats. 
The second largest party is now Yesh Atid, which did not exist in the 2009 elections. They gained an impressive 19 seats. Thus, counting Likud members alone, the Likud party remains the largest party in the Knesset by 1 seat. In 2009 Likud was second to Kadima by 1 seat.
By comparison, the Bayit Yehudi party, chaired by Naftali Bennett seems to have made a dramatic jump from 3 seats in the 2009 elections to 11 seats in 2013, a leap of 8 seats. This number may jump to 12 depending on the final tally of votes from soldiers stationed in the field and other extraneous votes that were not counted as of yet. 
In the 2013 elections, Bayit Yehudi ran on a join list with the National Union party. The two parties ran separately in 2009 gaining 3 seats and 4 seats respectively for a total of 7 seats. This makes Bayit Yehudi's gain only 4 seats, which is nevertheless impressive.
The biggest fall was the Kadima party, Israel largest in 2009 with 28 seats. In 2013 they earned 2 seats for an unprecedented loss of 26 seats. Most Kadima members either retired from politics or dropped out to join other parties. This includes Kadima's former leader Tzipi Livni who gained a respectable 6 seats in 2013 with the new HaTenuah party.

There are a total of 120 seats in the Knesset. All statistics have been calculated according to the Central Elections Committee website which can be viewed here: http://www.votes-19.gov.il/nationalresults

Other archived news briefs:Jan 23 2013, 09:30 PM, 1/23/2013