News Briefs

  Tevet 10, 5773 , 23/12/12

Party Identification, Ballot Symbols Approved

The Central Elections Committee approved, Sunday, party identifications and the Hebrew abbreviations which will identify them on the January Knesset ballot. While most parties received what they applied for, the "Eretz Hadashah party for bringing down the capitalist government, headed by Eldad Yaniv and Ronnie Blair" was shortened to "Eretz Hadashah, headed by Eldad Yaniv".

The Habayit Hayehudi-Ichud Le'umi list will be represented by the initials Tet Bet, while Otzma leyisrael has Nun Tzadi (Netz, Hebrew for Hawk), Yair Lapid's Yesh Atid Peh Heh (Po=Here, Peh=Mouth) and Member of Knesset Chaim Amsalem's Am Shalem final Tzaddik. Likud-Beyteinu combine under the Likud's traditional Mem Chet Lamed, while Tzipi Livni's Hatenu'ah will sport Tzaddik Peh.

Other archived news briefs:Dec 23 2012, 05:56 PM, 12/23/2012