News Briefs

  Tevet 4, 5773 , 17/12/12

Libya Closes Borders with Four Countries

Libya ordered the closure of its borders with four of its neighbors on Sunday, as it declared martial law in its south in the face of mounting unrest.

The Libyan National Assembly ordered the "temporary closure of the land borders with Chad, Niger, Sudan and Algeria pending new regulations" on the circulation of people and goods, said a decree carried by the official LANA news agency.

Other archived news briefs:Dec 17 2012, 07:12 AM, 12/17/2012