He Ru Follow us: Make a7 your Homepage
      Free Daily Israel Report
      Archive: 12/9/2012

      News Brief

        12/9/2012, Kislev 25, 5773

      Warning: Beware Donuts that Appear Dairy-Free

      The Rabbinate has issued a warning advising donut sellers to clarify which of their products contain dairy and which do not. Religious Jews abstain from eating dairy products for 1-6 hours after eating meat.

      If donuts appear non-dairy but actually contain dairy fillings, a small amount of filling should be made visible so that consumers are aware of its dairy status, rabbinate rabbis said. They also called to put dairy and non-dairy donuts on separate trays to avoid confusion.