News Briefs

  Iyar 21, 5772 , 13/05/12

Rivlin Salutes Wolf Prize Winners

Knesset Speaker Reuven Rivlin played host, Sunday, to the awards ceremony of the 2012 Wolf Foundation prizes for intellectual and artistic achievement. He told the winners, "You are children of a culture that sanctifies the question mark, skepticism and research. You are students of a universal scientific culture that has changed our lives beyond recognition. You are its leaders and the leaders of an uncompromising, stubborn perspective which is full of self criticism. You acquired these features through hard work. You earned them honestly."

Opera great Placido Domingo and conductor Simon Rattle headlined this years winners. They were joined by Jacob Bekenstein of the Hebrew University in mathematics, Professor Michael Aschbacher of the California Institute of Technology and University of Texas Professor Luis Caffarelli in mathematics, Professor Ronald M. Evans of the Salk Institute for Biological Studies in medicine, and Professor A. Paul Alivisatos of the University of California and Harvard University Professor Charles Leiber in chemistry.

Other archived news briefs:May 13 2012, 07:00 PM, 5/13/2012