News Briefs

  Shvat 8, 5772 , 01/02/12

Chief Rabbinate Warns About Non-Kosher Dried Fruit

Dried fruit is traditional during the upcoming holiday of Tu Bishvat. But the Chief Rabbinate of Israel is warning that just because it's only fruit, doesn't mean it's automatically kosher. 

A statement released on Wednesday warned that dried fruits sold in bulk or sold pre-wrapped without a kosher certification may contain fruit dipped in artificial flavorings or food colorings made with lard or other pork extract.  

All fruits and vegetables are kosher by Jewish law, but lard is not. Other meat derivatives used in food manufacturing or preserving may also be un-kosher. 

Click here for the full official notice in Hebrew.

Other archived news briefs:Feb 01 2012, 08:29 PM, 2/1/2012