Capitol building
Capitol buildingiStock

The US House of Representatives on Tuesday overwhelmingly voted in favor of a resolution condemning antisemitism and stating that Israel is not a racist state, NBC News reported.

The vote was 412-9, with 195 Democrats joining all Republicans in voting yes. Nine Democrats voted against the non-binding resolution, several of whom have previously denounced Israel as an “apartheid state”. One Democrat voted present.

The resolution was a Republican response to Rep. Pramila Jayapal (D-WA), who over the weekend called Israel a “racist state”, before walking back the comments and stating that she had directed them at Prime Minister Benjamin Netanyahu’s government.

Before Tuesday’s vote, Jayapal declined to provide any lengthy comment about the GOP effort, only calling it “ridiculous” before the elevator doors closed.

Authored by Rep. August Pfluger (R-TX), the resolution does not mention Jayapal by name but it clearly takes aim at her recent remarks, noted NBC News. It states that it’s the sense of Congress that “the State of Israel is not a racist or apartheid state,” that “Congress rejects all forms of antisemitism and xenophobia," and that “the United States will always be a staunch partner and supporter of Israel.”

“This is about an affirmation of support,” said Pfluger, a member of the Foreign Affairs Committee. “This is about a stance: 75 years after Israel became a nation, the United States was within minutes the first country to recognize them.”

On Monday, House Speaker Kevin McCarthy (R-CA) called on Democrats to “do something” about antisemitic remarks being made by members of their caucus, when asked about Jayapal’s remarks.

“This isn’t the first person in the Democratic conference that has continued to make antisemitic comments,” he replied.

“We’ve watched what they have continually to do,” he continued. “There are a number of them over there. I think if the Democrats want to believe that they do not have a conference that continues to make antisemitic remarks, they need to do something about it.”

The vote on the resolution took place one day President Isaac Herzog is set to address a joint session of Congress.

Several Democrats, members of “The Squad” which opposes the US support for Israel, have announced plans to boycott Herzog’s speech. These include Rep. Ilhan Omar (D-MN), Rep. Jamaal Bowman (D-NY), Rep. Alexandria Ocasio-Cortez (D-NY) and Rep. Rashida Tlaib (D-MI).