Pro-Israel rally (illustrative)
Pro-Israel rally (illustrative) Flash90

Diaspora Affairs Minister Omer Yankelevitch and Chairman of the Federation of Local Authorities Haim Bibas sent a message of solidarity and support to Jewish communities around the world facing anti-Semitism.

In light of the recent concerning rise in anti-Semitic attacks and rhetoric, Minister Yankelevitch and Chairman Bibas wrote a letter to 4,000 Jewish community and organization heads from around the world. The letter, co-sponsored by sixty-four mayors and municipal leaders, stresses that “despite the current political tensions within Israel, we come together in full unity with you, as one people, one family.”

Yankelevitch and Bibas wrote: “In the last few weeks, we are continuing to see how the significant rise and spread of anti-Semitism around the world is impacting Jewish individuals, communities, and institutions. On behalf of Israel’s government and society, we send you our full support and solidarity.”

“Since the establishment of the State of Israel, the Jewish world has been the backbone of our strength and resilience. Now, in the spirit of ‘kol Yisrael Areivim Zeh BaZeh,’ Jewish mutual responsibility, we, in Israel, are here to rise up and stand with you.”

The letter was sent to Jewish communities around the world, from Chile to Australia. Notable organizations include the French Jewish umbrella organization CRIF, the Conference of Presidents of Major American Jewish Organizations, and the Jewish Federations of North America.

The letter continues: “We share with you the same shock and horror following the spike of anti-Semitic incidents taking place within your communities and institutions.”

“Today, no Jew should feel the need to hide their identity in fear of physical harm, whether in Lod, Los Angeles or London.”

“We are thinking of you and praying for your community's safety and resilience.”

“May the coming days connect us not only through our shared challenges but rather, around mutual opportunities to work and celebrate together.”

Cities and councils cosigned include: Or Yehuda, Or Akiva, Oranit, Eilat, Alfei Menashe, Efrat, Ariel, Buq’ata, Beit Jann, Julis, Gan Yavne, Ganei Tikva, Eliakim, Dimona, Zikhron Ya’akov, Hadera, Hatzor HaGlilit, Harish, Tiberias, Yesud HaMa’ala, Yokne’am, Kasra-Samia, Kfar Vradim, Kfar Shmaryahu, Kfar Tavor, Karmiel, Lehavim, Lod, Mazkeret Batya, Metula, Meitar, Ma'ale Adumim, Isfiya, Acre, Immanuel, Afula, Kedumim, Katzrin, Kiryat Arba, Kiryat Ye’arim, Kiryat Ekron, Kiryat Shomron, Ramat Yishai, Shlomi, Tel Mond, Beit Aryeh, Rishon LeZion, Yesha Council, Megilot Dead Sea Regional Council, Shomron Re-gional Council, Binyamin Regional Council, Kiryat Tiv’on, Netivot, Safed, Ashkelon, Ash-dod, Be’er Sheva, Sha'ar HaNegev, Modi’in, and Haifa.