Saluting Anglo immigrants for contributing to Israel

Nefesh B’Nefesh awards immigrants from English-speaking countries for making a 'major impact' on the Jewish State.

Yoni Kempinski ,

9 winners of Sylvan Adams Nefesh B’Nefesh Bonei Zion Prize
9 winners of Sylvan Adams Nefesh B’Nefesh Bonei Zion Prize
Shahar Azran

Nefesh B’Nefesh honored the nine recipients of the 2017 Sylvan Adams Nefesh B’Nefesh Bonei Zion Prize today, Monday, June 26th at a special ceremony at the Knesset in the presence of Minister of Regional Cooperation, Tzachi Hanegbi, Minister of Aliyah and Integration, Sofa Landver and additional dignitaries. The award recognizes Olim (immigrants) from English-speaking countries who have made a major impact on the State of Israel.

“In every professional field across the country, English-speaking Olim are making incredible contributions to the State of Israel and Israeli society, with their innovation, passion and drive to advance the Jewish people,” said Rabbi Yehoshua Fass, Co-Founder and Executive Director of Nefesh B’Nefesh. “Each year that we award the Bonei Zion recipients with this prize, I am increasingly honored and amazed by the achievements of these Olim, and the astonishing impact they are having on the country.”

Minister Hanegbi said that he was deeply inspired by the English-speaking olim, as well as their commitment to strengthening the State of Israel and world Jewry as Olim to Israel.

"Being the husband of an Olah Chadasha (new immigrant) who made Aliyah at 19 years old, I know how challenging but how exciting it is to be an Oleh and to get adjusted to Israeli society and contribute to this great country," said Hanegbi. "We see the headlines in the media and in the newspapers...about terrorism that never stops really. But all these issues are not as important as this event and Aliyah as a whole. The fact that Israel is still attracting people from all over the world to come - people with optimism, vision and hope - this is the answer. This is the most effective answer to our enemies and those who wish our demise. Thank you to Nefesh B'Nefesh and these prize recipients, you should all be proud of everything that you have achieved."

he 2017 Bonei Zion recipients include:

Professor Benjamin W. Corn, Head of the Institute of Radiotherapy at Ichilov Hospital in the field of Science and Medicine

Beth Steinberg, Director and Co-Founder of Shutaf Inclusion Programs and Artistic Director and Co-Founder of Theater in the Rough in the field of Community and Non-Profit

Rabbi Chaim Brovender, Founder and Rosh Yeshiva of in the field of Education

Professor Gerald Steinberg, President of NGO Monitor and Professor of Political Studies at Bar Ilan University in the field of Israel Advocacy

Yoram Raanan, Contemporary Jewish Artist in the field of Arts, Culture & Sports

Captain Libby Weiss, Head of the Social Media Department in the IDF Spokesperson’s Unit in the field of Young Leadership

Scott Neiss, Founder and Executive Director of the Israel Lacrosse Association in the field of Young Leadership