Prime Minister Netanyahu and his wife, Sara, at the Kotel
Prime Minister Netanyahu and his wife, Sara, at the KotelKobi Gideon/GPO

A poll conducted last week by Professor Camil Fuchs for Channel 13 News indicated that the majority of the Israeli public thinks that the newly established government is not good. The results of the poll, which were published on Sunday, show that this dissatisfaction is also reflected in the number of seats the parties would win if elections were held today, where the bloc led by Prime Minister Benjamin Netanyahu drops from the 64 seats it won in the November elections to only 58 seats.

The poll found that the Likud led by Netanyahu, which won 32 seats in the elections, loses one seat and wins 31. In contrast, Yesh Atid led by Yair Lapid gains two seats, from 24 in the elections to 26 seats in the poll.

The Religious Zionist Party, led by Bezalel Smotrich and Itamar Ben Gvir, drops from 14 seats in the elections to 12 seats in the poll, while the biggest drop was recorded by the Shas Party, which won 11 seats in the elections and is down to 8 seats in the Channel 13 News poll.

United Torah Judaism is the only party in the Netanyahu bloc that maintains its power, and it wins 7 seats in the poll. According to the picture of the seats as reflected in the Channel 13 News poll, if elections were held today, Netanyahu would not have the possibility to form a government, but neither would the opposing bloc.

The National Unity Party, led by Benny Gantz, maintains its strength and wins 12 seats in the poll, as does Yisrael Beytenu led by Avigdor Liberman, which wins 6 seats. The Labor Party also maintains its strength with 4 seats, while Meretz, which did not pass the threshold and remained outside the Knesset in the last election, also wins 4 seats in this poll.

The poll also finds that the Ra'am Party gains one seat at the expense of Hadash-Ta'al, and after both parties won 5 seats in the last election, Ra'am wins 6 seats in the latest poll, while Hadash-Ta'al drops to 4 seats. The Balad Party does not pass the electoral threshold, as was the case in the last election.