Symbols of Sukkot and Derech Eretz

When holding the four species of palm branch, citron, myrtles and willows, there is much more there than meets the eye.

Rabbi Elan Adler ,

Prepping for Sukkot
Prepping for Sukkot
Yaakov Naumi/Flash 90

Besides the sukkah which is a main feature of this joyous festival of Sukkot, there are the four types taken during morning prayer which are a prominent feature of this holiday.

The lulav (palm branch), citron (etrog), hadasssim (myrtle twigs) and aravot (willows branches) are all held together in both hands and waved in six directions during specific morning prayers during the holiday.

Why are we commanded to take these four types, and what might be the deeper derech eretz lessons of each separately and all of them together? Is a myrtle just a leaf? Is a citron just a lemon-looking fruit? You'll find there's a lot to say about this unusual collection.

Click here to download the podcast