Yechimovich: Reserve Another Spot for a Woman

Labor MK hails Likud's democratic primaries, but says more women should be given spots in the top 20.

Ben Ariel,

MK Shelly Yechimovich
MK Shelly Yechimovich
Gideon Markowicz/Flash 90

MK Shelly Yechimovich (Labor) on Thursday called on Prime Minister Binyamin Netanyahu to reserve another realistic spot on the Likud’s Knesset list for a woman, saying it was a “disgrace” that only two women were placed in the party’s top 20.

Yechimovich said that failing to place more women in realistic spots takes the Likud decades backwards.

"I call on Netanyahu to, at the very least, use his reserved spot in the 11th place for another woman. This is not a private matter of the Likud but a public matter because we’re talking about a fair representation of more than half of the citizens of the State of Israel," she said.

Yechimovich, however, praised the Likud over its democratic primaries, saying that despite the many flaws in that method, there is no better method and that primaries are far preferable to the unacceptable method in which “one dictator appoints the MKs at his own personal discretion”, a reference to several other Knesset parties that operate in this manner.

A final count of the votes in the Likud primaries found that only two women have been guaranteed spots in the top twenty: Miri Regev, who came in fifth, and Gila Gamliel, who came in fourteenth.

The Likud’s list for the 20th Knesset, after all votes were counted, is as follows:

1. Binyamin Netanyahu
2. Gilad Erdan
3. Yuli Edelstein
4. Yisrael Katz
5. Miri Regev
6. Silvan Shalom
7. Moshe Ya'alon
8. Ze’ev Elkin
9. Tzahi Hanegbi
10. Danny Danon
11. Reserved for a candidate of Netanyahu's choice
12. Yuval Steinitz
13. Yariv Levin
14. Gila Gamliel
15. Ofir Akunis
16. David Bitan
17. Haim Katz
18. Jackie Levy
19. A candidate from the Gush Dan region
20. Avi Dichter
21. A candidate from the Jerusalem area
22. A candidate from the Negev
23. Reserved for a candidate of Netanyahu's choice
24. Ayoub Kara
25. Nava Boker
26. Tzipi Hotovely