Daily Israel Report
More

Zion's Corner Blogs


Join 'Minute for Munich,' Streaming Online

Join the global campaign to commemorate Israel's murdered athletes on Friday morning, July 27.
By Rachel Hirshfeld
First Publish: 7/26/2012, 6:20 PM

The flag of Israel is raised during a welcoming ceremony at the Olympic village in London
The flag of Israel is raised during a welcoming ceremony at the Olympic village in London
Reuters

A short ceremony commemorating the 11 Israeli athletes who were murdered at the 1972 Munich Games will be held at Israel’s embassy in London starting at 10:45 a.m Friday, July 27, followed by a global minute of silence at 11:00 a.m.

The worldwide event, which will be streamed online at Minute for Munich, will take place at 11 a.m. London time (1 p.m. Jerusalem, 6 a.m. New York) Friday.

This measure follows the International Olympic Committee’s refusal to hold a minute of silence in honor of the athletes at the opening ceremony of the London Games.

The Executive Director of the British Zionist Federation issued an announcement stating, “As you are aware, there have been a number of campaigns urging the IOC to hold a minutes’ silence during the Opening Ceremony of the London Olympics. Unfortunately the IOC has decided against this commemoration.”

The Zionist Federation is, therefore, asking people around the world to join them in commemorating the 11 slain Israeli athletes.

“On the morning of the Opening Ceremony, we are asking people everywhere to stop for one minute and stand in silence as a personal tribute to those who lost their lives in the 1972 Munich Massacre,” the statement read. “Wherever you may be and whatever you may be doing, please join us and stand in silence for one minute in silence as we remember.”