He Ru Follow us: Make a7 your Homepage
      Free Daily Israel Report

      Arutz 7 Most Read Stories


      50 IDF Officers Awarded for Excellence

      Fifty IDF officers receive awards for excellence in service.
      By Maayana Miskin
      First Publish: 4/17/2010, 10:58 PM / Last Update: 4/17/2010, 11:55 PM


      In honor of Israel's Independence Day, fifty IDF officers received awards on Thursday night for excellence in service. Chief of Staff Gabi Ashkenazi handed out the honors in a festive ceremony held in Glilot that has become an IDF tradition held before the two days in which Israel remembers those who sacrificed their lives for Israel and celebrates the achievement of the goal for which they paid the ultimate price.

      Ashkenazi spoke at the event. “The desire to guard and protect children in Ashkelon and Kiryet Shemonah, in Haifa and Sderot, in Jerusalem, Judea and Samaria – this is the fuel that drives you onwards... By reaching this point, you have brought made us proud – not only your families, who are sitting here tonight, or your comrades in the military – but Israeli society as a whole,” he said.

      He added, “Excellence is not something that can be taken for granted. It takes sacrifice and perseverance, strength of will and personal character.”

      The following officers received awards. Some officers' full names cannot be made public due to the sensitive nature of their service:
      Technological and Logistics Directorate:
      Captain Moshe Shwartz
      Captain Amir Shleifer

      Manpower Directorate:
      Lieutenant Bat-Chen Steinmetz
      Captain Einav Avni

      Air Force:
      Captain Manfred Markovitz
      Lieutenant Vladislav
      Captain Assaf Yaakovi
      Captain Makonent Asya
      Captain Sagi Cohen
      Captain Yaakov Sasson
      Captain Yaniv Afrashi
      Captain Tomer Gallam
      Captain Maor Gavriel
      Lieutenant Elad
      Captain Nir

      Captain Yonatan
      Lieutenant Yotam Levi
      Lieutenant Y
      Lieutenant Etgar

      Captain Yael
      Lieutenant Ido
      Lieutenant Assaf
      Captain Yakir
      Captain Meital
      Lieutenant Yonatan

      General Command:
      Lieutenant Yaara Elazari
      Lieutenant Ala Halabi

      Southern Command:
      Captain Assaf Hamami
      Lieutenant Masada Reshef
      Captain Karin Logisi
      Central Command:
      Captain Eliran Avinaim
      Captain Yishai Rosilio
      Lieutenant Roi
      Lieutenant Stav Ben-Zev
      Major Amri Yoetz

      Homefront Command:
      Captain Meirav Kraus

      Northern Command:
      Captain Mishel Azriel
      Lieutenant Assad Hassan
      Captain Dotan Bakbani
      Lieutenant Moshe Pesel
      Captain Tomer Honigman

      Lieutenant Elinor Ecksterman

      GOC Headquarters:
      Captain Maayan Hakakian
      Lieutenant Yuval
      Captain Sami Kavas
      Lieutenant Ben Ginzberg
      Lieutenant Eli Spibek
      Lieutenant Roi Ben-Tzur
      Lieutenant Alex Szevszikov
      Lieutenant Shirli Sabag